On Wednesday, January 18, 2017, Hapeville Charter Career Academy held the annual induction ceremony for the National Honor Society and National Beta Club. During the candlelit ceremony, thirty-six, seniors, juniors and sophomores were inducted, which is the largest group in the school’s history. Senior member of both clubs, Iris Johnson, led the traditional candle processional, with Senior Beta member Jelani Bailey offering the welcome to the inductees and guests.

Quoting the infamous Marianne Williamson, students were inspired with the academic challenge given by Assistant Principal and Advisor of both clubs, Mrs. Tracy McClure. “Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you”. She added, “Who are you not to be, but the best? Students, you must never, ever loose your lust to learn”.

Additionally, Hapeville Charter Career Academy’s Counselor and assistant advisor, Mrs. Aranya Knox, led the Beta inductees in their national pledge.  All students and parents were excited to take part in the ceremony and were treated to a reception immediately following.

The 2017 National Beta Club Inductees are:

Christin-Grace Beasley, Zipporah Brookins, Toni Brown, Kayla Davis, Briana Grier, ZyKeria Lewis, Immani Lott, Prince Martin, Lauryn Newman, Sara Pritchett, Mikaela Reid, Cameron Rignfield, Jacarria Sanderson, Darold Sims, Joshua Singleton, Alexis Smith, Atarah Smith, Jakerria Smith, Karla Sosa, Rory Starkey, Jr., Woodley White, Casey Williams, Hajj-Malik Williams, and Diana Young. Membership in the National Beta Club requires a 3.0 GPA or greater along with examples of achievement, character and community service.

The 2017 National Honor Society Inductees are:

Christin-Grace Beasley, Briana Grier, ZyKeria Lewis, Immani Lott, Sara Pritchett, Rory Starkey, Jr., Jessica Summers, Date Tete-Bennisan, Kaniya Thomas, Woodley White, Hajj-Malik Williams and Adelia Vasquez. Membership in the National Honor Society requires a 3.3 GPA or greater along with examples of leadership, community service and good character.